Intravitreal injection treatment (IVT)

Intravitreal injection treatment, also known as IVT, is a treatment method whereby various medications are injected into the inner eye (vitreous humour), mostly on an out-patient basis under operative conditions. It is one of the most modern treatment methods for retinal, macular and vitreous diseases. The DOmed Eye Centre doctors recommend IVT for acute situations requiring treatment in patients with the following conditions:

 

Treatment process for an IVT

After a local anaesthetic, the medication is injected approximately 6mm into the vitreous humour using a very fine syringe. Alongside simple administration of medication, an implant can be placed into the eye, which evenly delivers the active ingredient over a longer period of time. This reduces the number of procedures required, particularly for chronically ill patients. The particular advantage of an IVT is a drastic reduction of possible side-effects, as it is a localised application requiring a dosage of the active ingredient which is as low as possible.

IVOM in den Glaskörper
IVOM into the vitreous body
VEGF blockers to treat AMD and diabetic retinopathy

For a long time, exudative age-related macular degeneration was responsible for half of all losses of sight. The introduction of treatment with medication injections into the vitreous humour have significantly improved prospects for those affected: So-called VEGF blockers block the Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF), stopping the vascular growth (angiogenesis).

This makes it possible to stop the deterioration of vision for most patients with late age-related macular degeneration and to improve quality of vision for approximately 50% of patients. However, this method does not make it possible to restore the regions of the retina which have been destroyed.

The following medications may be used for treatment:
  • Ranibizumab
    Since February 2007, Ranibizumab, a medication derived from Avastin® (Bevacizumab) (see below), has been approved specially for use in eyes. This medication is sold under the brand name of Lucentis® and has been developed specially for the treatment of the eye. Lucentis® is approved for the treatment of exudative AMD, diabetic macular oedemas, macular oedemas in patients with BRVO and CRVO, choroidal neovascularisation in patients with severe myopia and choroidal neovascularisation in connection with rare diseases.
  • Aflibercept
    A new medication has been approved in Germany for use in the eyes of adult patients since November 2012. Just like Lucentis®, this medication has been specially developed for use in the eye and has the brand name Eylea ® (Aflibercept). The mode of action of aflibercept is the same as that of ranibizumab (Lucentis®), which was approved in 2007. Eylea® is approved for the treatment of adults with exudative AMD, diabetic macular oedemas, choroidal neovascularisation in patients with severe myopia and macular oedemas in patients with BRVO and CRVO.
  • Bevacizumab
    This medication related to Lucentis® (ranibizumab) has been being used frequently and with positive treatment results in Germany since 2005 and in the rest of the world to treat exudative AMD. Avastin® (bevacizumab) was originally developed for the treatment of tumours (where new blood vessels also grow) and is approved for the treatment of various tumour diseases under the name of Avastin® (bevacizumab). The use of Avastin® (bevacizumab) is a so-called “off-label use”, which means a use of the medication in an area of application which is not approved by pharmaceutical law. However, this does not mean that doctors are not permitted to use the medication for eyes.
  • Ozurdex® (Dexamethasone implant)
    Ozurdex® is a drug carrier which is placed inside the eye and then delivers the active ingredient of dexamethasone, a corticoid, over a longer period of time (4-6 months). The medication Ozurdex® (Dexamethasone implant) has been specially approved in Germany since 2010 for use in the eye for the treatment of macular oedemas in patients with retinal vein occlusions, diabetic macular oedemas and since 2011 for the treatment of macular oedemas in patients with uveitis intermedia/posterior.
  • ILUVIEN 190 microgram (intravitreal corticosteroid implant)
    Iluvien is a “second-line” therapy indicated for the treatment of visual disturbances in combination with chronic diabetic macular oedemas which do not respond sufficiently to the available treatments.

    DOmed eyclinic Westfalen
    Dortmund B1

    Rheinlanddamm 199
    44139 Dortmund
    Fon. +49231 – 95 80 93 10
    www.augenklinik-westfalen.de

    Private consultation & outpatient operations

    DOmed dry eye center
    Dortmund B1

    Rheinlanddamm 199
    44139 Dortmund
    Fon. +49231 – 95 80 93 10
    www.trockene-augen-symptome.de

    Private outpatient diagnosis and treatment

    DOmed eye center
    Hombruch

    Hakortstr. 64
    44245 Dortmund-Hombruch
    Fon. +49231 – 71 71 38
    www.augenzentrum-hombruch.de

    Medical consultation hours & private consultation hours

    DOmed eye center
    Lünen

    Merschstr.22
    44534 Lünen
    Fon. +492306 – 75 68 50
    www.augenzentrum-luenen.de

    Medical consultation hours, private consultation hours
    & outpatient operations

    DOmed private practice
    Dortmund center

    Wißstr. 9
    44137 Dortmund-center
    Fon. +49231 – 57 10 88
    www.privatpraxis-wissstrasse.de

    Private consultation

    DOmed eye center
    Phoenixsee

    Am Kai 8
    44263 Dortmund
    Fon. +49231 – 477 98 400
    www.augenzentrum-am-phoenixsee.de

    Medical consultation hours & private consultation hours

Glaskörperinjektionen
 Intravitreale Injektionen (IVOM)

Auch intravitreale operative Medikamentengabe (IVOM) genannt ist eine Behandlungsmethode bei der verschiedene Medikamente meist ambulant unter operativen Bedingungen ins Augeninnere (Glaskörper) eingespritzt werden. Sie zählt zu den modernsten Therapiemethoden bei Netzhaut-, Makula- und Glaskörpererkrankungen. Die Ärzte der DOmed-Augenzentren empfehlen eine IVOM-Behandlung bei akuten therapiebedürftigen Zuständen der folgenden Erkrankungen:

Spaltlampenbild einer feuchten alterbedingten Makuladegeneration
Feuchte alterbedingte Makuladegeneration
Spaltlampenbild einer diabetischen Makulopathie
Diabetische Makulopathie
Makulaödem bei Venenast- und Zentralvenenverschlüssen
Makulaödem bei Venenast- und Zentralvenenverschlüssen
Spaltlampenbild eines Makulaödems bei Uveitis
Makulaödem bei Uveitis

Behandlungsablauf einer IVOM

Intravitreale Injektion
IVOM in den Glaskörper

Nach einer lokalen Betäubung wird das Medikament mittels einer hauchdünnen Kanüle ca. 6mm tief in den Glaskörper eingespritzt. Neben der einfachen Medikamentenverabreichung kann auch ein Implantat in das Auge eigesetzt werden, welches den Wirkstoff über einen längeren Zeitraum gleichmäßig abgibt. Dies reduziert besonders bei chronisch kranken Patienten die Anzahl der benötigten Eingriffe. Besonderer Vorteil einer IVOM ist eine drastische Reduzierung möglicher Nebenwirkungen, da es sich hierbei um eine lokale Anwendung handelt, die nur eine möglichst geringe Dosierung der Wirkstoffe benötigt.

VEGF-Blocker gegen AMD und diabetische Retinopathie

Die feuchte altersbedingte Makuladegeneration war lang Zeit für die Hälfte aller Erblindungen verantwortlich. Die Einführung der Therapie mit Medikamenteninjektionen in den Glaskörper haben die Aussichten der Betroffenen erheblich verbessert: Sogenannte VEGF-Hemmer stoppen durch die Blockade des Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) das Gefäßwachstum (Angiogenese).

Sie ermöglichte es, dass bei einem Großteil der Patienten mit später altersbedingter Makuladegeneration  die fortschreitende Sehverschlechterung aufgehalten werden und sich bei ca. 50 Prozent der Betroffenen die Sehqualität verbessern kann. Zerstörte Areale der Netzhaut sind allerdings auch mit dieser Methode nicht wieder herzustellen.

Für die Behandlung kommen verschiedene Medikamente in Frage:

  • Ranibizumab
    Seit Februar 2007 ist in Deutschland ein vom Avastin® (Bevacizumab) (s. unten) abgeleitetes Medikament, (Ranibizumab) speziell für die Anwendung im Auge zugelassen. Dieses Medikament wird unter dem Handelsnamen Lucentis® vertrieben und wurde speziell für die Therapie im Auge entwickelt. Lucentis® ist für die Behandlung der feuchten AMD, diabetische Makulaödem, Makulaödem bei VAV/ZVV, chorioidale Neovaskularisation bei hoher Myopie und bei chorioidale Neovaskularisation in Verbindung mit seltenen Erkankungen zuglassen.
  • Aflibercept
    Seit November 2012 ist ein neues Medikament in Deutschland für die Anwendung im Auge bei Erwachsenen zugelassen. Dieses Medikament ist, genau wie Lucentis®, speziell für die Therapie im Auge entwickelt worden und trägt den Handelsnamen Eylea® (Aflibercept). Der Wirkmechanismus von Aflibercept ist der Gleiche wie bei dem 2007 zugelassen Ranibizumab (Lucentis®). Eylea® ist für die Behandlung der feuchten AMD, diabetische Makulaödem,  chorioidale Neovaskularisation bei hoher Myopie und Makulaödem bei VAV/ZVV bei Erwachsenen zugelassen.
  • Bevacizumab
    Dieses dem Lucentis® (Ranibizumab) verwandte Medikament wird seit 2005 in Deutschland und weltweit bei der feuchten AMD häufig und mit positiven Behandlungsergebnissen eingesetzt. Avastin® (Bevacizumab) wurde ursprünglich zur Tumorbehandlung entwickelt (auch hier wachsen neue Blutgefäße) und ist unter dem Namen Avastin® (Bevacizumab) für die Behandlung verschiedener Tumorerkrankungen zugelassen. Bei der Verwendung von Avastin® (Bevacizumab) handelt es sich um einen sog. "off-label use", d.h. eine Verwendung des Medikaments in einem arzneimittelrechtlich nicht zugelassenen Anwendungsgebiet. Dies bedeutet allerdings nicht, dass Ärzte das Medikament am Auge nicht verwenden dürfen.
  • Ozurdex® (Dexamethason-lmplantat)
    Ozurdex® ist ein Medikamententräger, der nach Einbringung in das Augeninnere über einen längeren Zeitraum (4-6 Monate) den Wirkstoff Dexamethason, ein Corticoid, abgibt. Seit 2010 ist in Deutschland das Medikament Ozurdex® (Dexamethason-lmplantat) speziell für die Anwendung im Auge für die Behandlung des Makulaödems bei retinalen Venenverschlüssen,diabetisches Makulaödem, und seit 2011 für die Behandlung des Makulaödems bei Uveitis intermedia/posterior zugelassen.
  • ILUVIEN 190 Mikrogramm (intravitreales Corticosteroide-Implantat)
    Iluvien ist eine "second line"-Therapie zur Behandlung von Sehstörungen in Verbindung mit chronischem diabetischem Makulaödem indiziert, welche auf verfügbare Therapien nur unzureichend anspechen.

Kontakt

Schreiben Sie uns.

Benutzerdaten
Message