Dry eyes

Today, the symptom “dry eyes” is the most frequent condition in ophthalmology. According to recent studies, approximately one in every five patients who visit ophthalmologists have “dry eyes”. The disease has become increasingly common over the past years.

For additional information on the symptoms and causes of dry eyes and how these can be diagnosed and treated, visit our special topic page:

www.trockene-augen-symptome.de

Tear fluid

Our tears have many functions. They must keep the sensitive cornea and conjunctiva moist, supply them with oxygen and smoothen and compensate small irregularities on the cornea. In addition, tears contain enzymes and antibodies which combat any dirt, bacteria or viruses entering the eye. The tear fluid washes out any foreign bodies. About every 5 to 10 seconds, it is evenly distributed over the surface of the eyeball when we blink.

To be able to perform all these functions, the tear fluid is highly complex. It consists of three components: lipid (oil), water and mucus.

Symptoms

The sensation of a foreign body or dryness can even result in a burning feeling or pain. In this case, the eyes will be nearly permanently red. After sleeping, patients have difficulties opening their eyes. Chronic eyelid margin inflammations may intensify the symptoms. Some patients also complain about an increased tear production, in particular when outdoors when it is windy, but also in indoor areas.

Recommended treatment

The cause of dry eyes must be identified and the dry eyes must be treated with the targeted application of moistening eye drops. Where required, a rinsing of the lacrimal duct may be recommendable. In rare cases, the discharge quantity of the tear film must be reduced through a so-called plug-in.

You will find further information on the causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of dry eyes in our brochure “Treatment of dry eyes”.

Treatment with the E-Eye

In the event that a dysfunction of the meibomian glands is detected during the examination, this can be treated with the E-Eye. Treatment with the E-Eye is a remedial treatment with the aim of allowing the Meibomian glands to work effectively once more.

Find out more

E-Eye

Where the correction of a visual defect is requested despite dry eyes, we recommend premium Femto Lasik or PRK surgery; however, it must be noted that the dry eye symptoms may increase after such a procedure.

We are happy to answer your questions. Call us on +49800 199 0000, we are looking forward to your call!

DOmed eyclinic Westfalen
Dortmund B1

Rheinlanddamm 199
44139 Dortmund
Fon. +49231 – 95 80 93 10
www.augenklinik-westfalen.de

Private consultation & outpatient operations

DOmed dry eye center
Dortmund B1

Rheinlanddamm 199
44139 Dortmund
Fon. +49231 – 95 80 93 10
www.trockene-augen-symptome.de

Private outpatient diagnosis and treatment

DOmed eye center
Hombruch

Hakortstr. 64
44245 Dortmund-Hombruch
Fon. +49231 – 71 71 38
www.augenzentrum-hombruch.de

Medical consultation hours & private consultation hours

DOmed eye center
Lünen

Merschstr.22
44534 Lünen
Fon. +492306 – 75 68 50
www.augenzentrum-luenen.de

Medical consultation hours, private consultation hours
& outpatient operations

DOmed private practice
Dortmund center

Wißstr. 9
44137 Dortmund-center
Fon. +49231 – 57 10 88
www.privatpraxis-wissstrasse.de

Private consultation

DOmed eye center
Phoenixsee

Am Kai 8
44263 Dortmund
Fon. +49231 – 477 98 400
www.augenzentrum-am-phoenixsee.de

Medical consultation hours & private consultation hours

Das trockene Auge

Das Krankheitsbild „trockenes Auge“ gilt heute als die häufigste  Erkrankung in der Augenheilkunde. Nach neueren Untersuchungen hat etwa  jeder 5. Patient, der einen Augenarzt aufsucht, ein „trockenes Auge“. Die Erkrankung hat in den letzten Jahren erheblich zugenommen.

Die Tränenflüssigkeit

Die Tränenflüssigkeit hat vielfältige Aufgaben. Sie muss die empfindliche Horn- und Bindehaut feucht halten, ihr Sauerstoff zuführen und kleine Unebenheiten auf der Hornhaut glätten bzw. ausgleichen. Sie enthält Enzyme und Antikörper, die in die Tränenflüssigkeit gelangende Schmutzpartikel, Bakterien und Viren abwehren. Die Tränenflüssigkeit schwemmt Fremdkörper aus. Sie wird durch den Lidschlag, der etwa alle 5 bis 10 Sekunden erfolgt, gleichmäßig über die Augapfeloberfläche verteilt.

Um alle diese Funktionen wahrnehmen zu können, ist die Tränenflüssigkeit sehr kompliziert aufgebaut. Sie besteht aus drei Komponenten: einer schleimhaltigen, einer wässrigen und einer fetthaltigen Schicht.

Die Symptome

Das Fremdkörper- und Trockenheitsgefühl kann sich bis hin zu Brennen und Schmerzen steigern. Die Augen sind fast ständig gerötet. Nach dem Schlafen fällt das Öffnen der Lider schwer. Chronische Lidrandentzündungen können das Krankheitsbild verstärken. Ein Teil der Patienten klagt auch über einen vermehrten Tränenfluss, besonders im Freien, wenn es windig ist, aber auch in geschlossenen Räumen.

Empfohlene Behandlung

Ein trockenes Auge muss auf seinen Ursprung untersucht werden und gezielt durch Zugabe von benetzenden Augentropfen therapiert werden. Gegebenenfalls ist eine Spülung der Tränenwege sinnvoll. Selten muss auch die Abflussmenge des Tränenfilms durch einen so genannten Plug-In reduziert werden.

Wenn trotz eines trockenen Auges eine Korrektur der Fehlsichtigkeit erwünscht ist, ist die Premium Femto-Lasik oder PRK empfehlenswert, jedoch ist zu beachten, dass die Trockenheitssymptome zunehmen können.

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung, rufen Sie uns unter der 0800 199 0000 an, wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf!


Kontakt

Schreiben Sie uns.

Benutzerdaten
Message